mercoledì 7 gennaio 2015

Review: The Awakening by Dorine White


The Awakening by Dorine White

The Awakening 

by Dorine White

 Nightmares really do come true, and for fifteen-year-old Kyler Birkwood, they are just beginning. Raised on a farm by his Aunt Martha, Kyler has no clue about the magical heritage swimming through his blood. When he discovers evidence of a mythical creature, a terrifying beast thought only to exist in fairy tales, his safe world shatters. Left at a school of magic to hunt for clues, he is overwhelmed and disbelieved. As loved ones begin disappearing and Orcs roam the land, Kyler must undergo a journey that takes him from the High Courts of the King to the unknown forests of the East. His magic just awakening, Kyler is the lone hope for a world that will not listen.

Purchase Your Copy

Praise for The Awakening

 "Dorine White delivers twists and turns to the plot that will keep you turning the pages."  ~ Melanie Mason, author of the YA historical, The Line That Divides

 "The Awakening is a clever blend of folklore and fantasy, perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. A furiously fun read!" ~ Laurisa Reyes, author of the YA thriller, Contact

                                                     My review

I  really enjoyed this book: it is full of adventure, magic, fighting, great characters.
Kyler is 15 years old and lives on a farm with Aunt Martha: his parents have entrusted to her when he was 5 years to travel the world in search of adventure. One day he sees a strange and giant flying creature and finds injured a talking wolf. His aunt thinks the monster Mordrake and his Griffin are awakened and to protect Kyler brings him in the Conservatory of Magic: a school for wizards is frequented by his aunt and his father. The boy turns out to be part of a magic family and to have magical powers too. With each passing day more and more people disappear and the city is really in danger. At school Kyler befriends Henry and Darcy, an independent princess who wants to be treated on a par with boys and has done many researches on Mordrake.  They find that  have to fight hard and together to liberate the city from these two monsters.
The book is very well written and thanks to short sentences and to the alternation of the various characters' history the pace is compelling and engaging, a page leads to another.
All the characters are wonderful and fascinating, magical at the same time real: wise and prudent Aunt Martha, Walter, a magician transformed into a wolf, intelligent and brave Henry, strong, combative independent Princess Darcy  and Kyler, a fearless, resourceful hero.
It 's an amazing book for all ages.



  Author Dorine White

  My name is Dorine White. I am a children's fantasy author and a book reviewer. I grew up back East in Maryland and attended BYU in Utah. I have a BA in Humanities with an interest in Art History and French. Currently I live in the beautiful, yet rainy Northwest with my husband and 6 children. My first novel was published in 2012 and is the beginning of the Cleopatra's Legacy series. The first two books are out, The Emerald Ring and The Ruby Pendant. Look for the third book, The Diamond Looking Glass in the summer of 2015.


  $25 Blog Tour Giveaway

 Enter to win an Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash

 Ends 1/29/15

 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. 

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...